An answer to a prayer…….

H2 and I have been able to purchase a brand new home.

We have also been able to conceive, after I miscarried 2 days after receiving the call from the agency passing along the latest that D and H would be closing the adoption.

I’ll be completely honest……I have not prayed since I separated from W, other than over meals with the family.  I mean, I still really can’t wrap my head around how ‘God’ would let so many suffer through something like this, especially my daughter, an innocent in this entire mess of a situation.

A couple of weeks after the full realization of the permanent, life changing mistake of separating from W set in, I knew I had to do something, no, not something, EVERYTHING I possibly could, to be sure that no other expectant mother would fall prey to their own hopelessness, fears, and lack of confidence that mothers in a crisis pregnancy so often do.  Who then may end up with being sold the bag of goods by the billion dollar adoption industry, which includes the subtle coercion tactics that they have so skillfully perfected, the withheld information, the false impression of open adoption, the unspoken truths of their child’s original birth certificate being sealed, or that their child will suffer the deepest emotional scar possible and anxiety that cannot be expressed except for crying until they have nothing left when they are separated from them, the only voice, smell and taste that the child has known since conception. That reunion does not ever replace the lost time, but brings a whole new set of challenges.  That adoption permeates every single crevice of your life, for the rest of your life.  The triggers, the PTSD and the affects it will have on your family for generations to come.

I have been able to help so many women across the country. Some, by just providing a few links for them to research all the potential outcomes of an adoption, others by sending a few links to help them find the financial support in their areas to keeping their child.  Others, I’ve encouraged to put down their pride, and ask for help from their family and friends to build a support network.  And a few others still, by helping them revoke consent while in their state’s ‘fair’ grace period to keep their family in tact.

But this post isn’t about anything I prayed about or for, but something that someone else did.

We are at the stage that we are ready to be able to find out the gender of our new little bundle. 

The local crisis pregnancy center that I reached out to in my area when I realized I needed an avenue to reach women in crisis, sent an email solicitation that they were training their staff to obtain certifications to do ultrasounds, and they were offering free ones to I or anyone I knew who was pregnant.

I got to the appointment tonight, expecting to have my ultrasound completed, however, the person that scheduled the appointment had a mix up and forgot to transfer the appointment to the new book, and no one was there to actually do the appointment.

They went to get the Executive Director, and when I told her my name (yes, my real name KJW, KNL and all of the rest of the stalkers out there), she said, your name is so familiar.  I told her that I had been in contact with them a couple years ago, and just haven’t needed to reach out for their services, as the women I’ve been helping have not been in the area.  She was anxious to show me around, and I have to admit the words ‘Christian’ and ‘God’ were used in her descriptions of the center, however, she completely surprised me when she spoke about adoption as an option. 

She gave me a lot of information regarding how CPCs are a member of one major group or another.  They are a member of one that put on a conference earlier this year in Ohio.  At the conference, she said they introduced the perspective, that adoption is not really an ‘option’ to be offered when the mother is still pregnant.

HALLELUJAH!!!!

This woman then said she brought this up at a staff meeting when she returned.

One woman did not agree and was adamant that adoption IS an option.

I confirmed her approach, and what she had heard at the conference, and said, “No woman should make that decision until after they have had time to recover from giving birth, have met their child or until their hormones have had time to settle down.  Think about it, even insurance companies consider a woman ‘disabled’, and provide disability to women on maternity leave.” 

I could see her eyes light up.  She now had the words to be able to tactfully provide real facts on why not to discuss adoption as an option.

Then she said the words, “I can’t believe you are here today.  You are a prayer answered.  I have been praying about this very situation, asking for a sign, something, because I just don’t feel it is right to offer it to women so early.”

I then went on to explain how the adoption laws work in this state.  No revocation period.  No legal way to ‘enforce’ an open adoption.  That no agency actually tells women in crisis to go and speak to an adoptee, to go and speak to a mother who has given up a child, and if they do find a mother that will work with them, she has conditioned herself that she gave a ‘gift’ to a poor childless couple, who has been waiting for years, who has had X number of failed adoptions.  Then I made the comment, ‘God doesn’t make mistakes, and children are not gifts, they are human beings who God has given to a specific person.’  I went on to add about paying ‘expenses’, how that is ‘buying a baby’, and all of those things is all coercion.  I explained the ocytocin, the trust hormone.  How matching expectant mothers with people desperate for a child, will be trusted by the pregnant mother, when in all reality, they are buying a baby at all cost, is playing on that mother’s vulnerability, her compassion and her hormonal state.

She said, I wish I could have you speak to the woman I mentioned earlier.  I then told her, I’ll come back any time.

She then asked my connection.  I briefly touched on how I was in a crisis pregnancy with my second child, not that I had lost my son to adoption.

She then went on and mentioned that the agency I was deceived by had contacted her wanting to bring in lunch, wanting to ‘connect’.  She also told me about a prominent adoption attorney in my area also had a ‘PR’ person from her ‘non-profit’ agency contact them and also want to ‘work together’.

I told her, if you connect with any of them, I will be sure to cross them off my list of family preservation resources.

I told her to Google Georgia Tann, and Edna Gladney.  I urged her to do her homework and look up the adoption laws in our state, and that the one prominent attorney who contacted her was actually on the state board, and put in place the ‘no revocation period’.

Even though I didn’t get my ultrasound to find out the gender of our new little one today, I got something even better, a ray of hope.  That society is hopefully, and finally, getting it.

She actually wrote down the words ‘family preservation focused.’  Circled it and traced over it and over it while I was speaking.  It was nothing short of AH-MAZING.

I’m still not sure if I will start praying…..but today, I thought about it…..

Then tonight, I received a text from D, that was obviously sent to me in error, asking me if I knew what some woman’s baby’s name was gonna be.  I didn’t respond, since she clearly doesn’t want anything to do with me.  The ‘gift’ that keeps on giving the triggers, the trauma and the flashbacks…..adoption.

About wsbirthmom

I am a single mom to my elementary aged daughter, and as of 2011 a mother to a son who I lost to adoption. No matter how trapped, hopeless, frustrated and overwhelmed I felt before placing my son, all those feelings combined are no comparison to the grief and the loss of him we have felt post-placement. And no one, and nothing could have prepared me for it. I have been forever changed. The old me is gone, and so is the old life - something no one ever mentioned would happen. This will affect many generations to come, something else that was never mentioned. So many things that could have been disclosed to me that would have allowed me to make a 'fully informed' decision, were kept from me. The things I've learned about the billion dollar adoption industry since losing my son, have opened my eyes to the ever so clever tactics used by many adoption agencies and attorneys, which I have experienced first hand and didn't even know it was happening, until it was too late. If you need a password for a protected post, please email me at wsbirthmom at g mail dot com. I've been personally cyber stalked and attacked by women who have adopted who I have never met, in an attempt to ruin my children's chance of knowing each other. Let's just say, it's been quite a 'ride' - but the ride has come to an end. I will keep telling mine and other natural mother's truths of adoption until the laws are changed and made 'fair' to natural families or until the day I take my last breath here on this earth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to An answer to a prayer…….

  1. janine says:

    Congratulations on your pregnancy! Sounds like it was a promising visit with the clinic.

  2. catfishmom says:

    this completely give me chills…God IS speaking to you…and he did not want you to lose W,and it was not in his plan but He will be here for you…I do not say this lightly…and I say it with all sincerity…he loves us even in hard places and especially in hard places…this I have come to learn (the long way)…this is a story that inspires me…well done.

  3. Melissa says:

    I have been praying for you!! & all that you do…that God will continue to swing those doors wide open before you reach them & that you’ll know he’s there and walking before you guiding you and leading the way!! You’ll get there eventually!! I know this because I have the faith of the mustard seed!!

  4. Changing the world one heart at a time! Your suffering and separation will be rectified eventually; in the meantime you and W have saved countless other mothers and babies the same heartache. Sending loving prayers for you and baby and family! You are a blessing, a God-sent champion for mothers and children.

  5. samantha568 says:

    So encouraged by your blog. I’m sorry for the loss of your son, and pray for a reunion for the both of you. The work you are doing is so appreciated, even through the pain. It is very hard as an adoptee or first Mother to keep writing and doing this work, but is the only way.
    http://www.PeachNeitherHereNorThere.blogspot.com

  6. Please DO NOT address yourself as a B-Mother, YOU are the mother God chose for your baby Psalm 139. regardless of the circumstances that separate you. Please grasp the wonder of these truths, ESPECIALLY VERSES 13/14. coming from the premise of 2Peter1:21. knowing All scripture is given by inspiration of God. The industry HAS won as long as you and millions of those seared by adoption ALLOW themselves to be addressed this way, the aim of adoption-land was always to DEMONIZE the mother, to make adoption more palatable to society, which is an act of unmitigated cruelty. Dr. Kate Waller-Barrett, America’s most caring Christian, her legacy today is NULL and VOID among the “Christian adoption agencies” its all about LIES, DECEIT, and FILTHY LUCRE, God will spew these usurpers out of his mouth, such workers of iniquity, when they should be as the New Testament teaches, VISITING, SUPPORTING, MENTORING, the fatherless, afflicted, as Dorcas, Tabitha did.

  7. gooddaytocry says:

    can’t wait to hear the sex of the baby. i love making gender appropriate gifts. God has finally blessed

  8. Kate says:

    Hi,

    I’m a bit late to the party and I can’t even remember how I found my way to your blog. It has been wonderful (if that is even the appropriate word, which I doubt that it is) to read your blog. I’m an Illinois adoptee. I didn’t know my name or my parents’ names until I was 26. I had a great adoption, as adoptions go, but that primal wound never heals. The adoption industry is little more than cash-for-kids. Kudos to you for exposing it.

    -Kate

  9. Jenna says:

    Oh my gosh, I love this blog. I lost my son to adoption in November 2007 and in the past year have finally started to speak out against infant adoption. In turn, for my new voice, the AM of my son has now closed the adoption. My 12 year old cried her eyes out when I had to explain to her why she wouldn’t get a video in return to hers sent on Thanksgiving this past week. I see adoption slowly changing and I keep hope that one day there will be no infant adoption and only adoption of children in need.

Leave a Reply

